01 August, 2006

V.A. - Noise Corrosion

artist: V.A.
title: Noise Corrosion
label: Exegene
catalogue: XGNCD001
format: CD
date: 08/2006
country: UK


They say good things come to those who wait. How apt then, that I had been waiting an eternity for a certain compilation to surface from the dreaded depths of delays, and into the Drum & Bass stratosphere over the past few months. This compilation was none other than Exegene Recordings 'Noise Corrosion', a disc whose ideal was to offer producers from shores both logistics local, established and largely uncharted on the drum and bass map a base to air their wares, all whilst uncompromising their needs to experiment with the regularity of dance music structure.
Unwrapping the package for the first time it's observable that there's been plenty of care and soul poured into the presentation of this one-off rarity. Indeed, the charming fellow on the front cover appears somewhat equally transfixed as well. He's probably been won over by the instrumental hip-hop and amen amalgamations present in the first track, Paradigm X's mightily energetic 'Malthusian Blues'. It's a testament to the diversity of this label that such a number has been pencilled to headline proceedings on this compilation - much like Cartridge's wild and wacky 'Suspicion' that takes centre stage shortly after it's always stimulating to hear such a wide palette of sounds, moods and hybrids juxtapose surprisingly snugly in one place, and furthermore retain lasting appeal after multiple listens. I picked out a theme of tracks sharing an abundance of influences from the past, typified by colourful strokes of classical instrumentation (think Source Direct, Good Looking, plus Reinforced Records) and ornamenting them with contemporary aesthetics such as vivid electronic spasms and glitchy futurism. A risky combination you may agree, so I'm glad to reassure you that it's worked with startlingly good results in this case. I won't indulge in longwinded descriptions of each track for you, all I will say from this point on is that label owner Bob Cube has compiled a real gem here, with a dull moment inaudible throughout. And to all those looking for a springboard into the alternative sound of Drum & Bass, get yourself a copy of this asap. It could be the best £7.50 you'll ever spend.

01. Paradigm X - Malthusian Blues
02. Cartridge - Suspicion
03. Temulent - Angershine
04. Malevolent Wavelength - Latin Roulette
05. Dissident - Behind The Curtain
06. Macc - It's Cold Inside
07. dgoHn - Squish
08. Alpha Omega - Flying Automobiles
09. Bad Mammal - Knife Song
10. Martsman - Roads (Sileni Remix)
11. Beatokko - Going Beyond
12. ICR - Earth Odyssey
13. oS - Bears


Blogger said...

Get daily suggestions and methods for making $1,000s per day ONLINE totally FREE.

Blogger said...

SuperPayMe is the best work from home website.